Seashore Trolley Museum
Trolley service in Kennebunkport was initially provided by the Mousam River Railroad, which connected the town of Sanford with the Boston & Maine Railroad in Springvale. In 1899, engineers extended the line 20 miles east to Cape Porpoise, in order to avoid having to pay the Boston & Maine Railroad for freight service to the coastal port. In 1904, the trolley lines were combined into the Atlantic Shore Line Railway, which ultimately became Maine's largest intercity trolley system. The line passed through what now is the Seashore Trolley Museum's property, and visitors can ride over a portion of the old trolley line as part of their tour.
Please provide the following:
Activity Type:Trips and Destinations
Fun Fact:Trolley service in this area was established in 1893 by two mill owners, one of whom likely was George Goodall. In the early 1880s, he had a loom invented that could weave pile fabrics. The local railroads found his mohair plush to be ideal for their car seats, and very soon, all new U.S. railroad passenger cars were upholstered with the fabric.